Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

The parent is referring to the ability to disable the messaging, not the ability to disable secure boot.

The only time the messaging is useful is when someone has unintentionally disabled secure boot. In this case they can go enable it again (or bring it to geek squad, etc).

If the user intentionally disabled it, then the it should be possible to suppress any warning messages about it.

If malicious software somehow disabled it, it can probably also make the registry settings tweaks required to hide the messaging so the user won't know anyway.



SecureBoot is a UEFI setting. There is no way for the OS to determine whether it was intentional or not.


OK, so it is UEFI setting. That does not mean that the OS has to bug the user about this permanently. What about providing button "OK, got it, now get dismissed"?


>What about providing button "OK, got it, now get dismissed"?

I don't know the answer to that question, but if I was a malware writer, disabling that warning would be the very first thing I would do.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: