If it's true, a notification would have been nice. Or changing the setting back only for people who haven't specifically looked at and increased their privacy settings in the past
But then they'd be directly acknowledging the abuse, and then you could quickly change it back - however they want pictures to be tagged of you and to become public so they can be shared to everyone who they think will engage / comment on them, etc..